Theft, Larceny & Burglary
In the state of Florida, the term theft is used to describe a wide variety of different property crimes that include, larceny, stealing, conversion, misappropriation and other similar charges. In general, theft involved the unauthorized taking or use of property belonging to another individual.
How is Theft Proven?
In order to prove theft, a prosecutor must establish that a defendant specifically intended on illegally taking or using a piece of property that belonged to another individual – either temporarily or permanently. There are many different types of theft and Florida state laws will determine the type of theft, as well as the classification of the crime (misdemeanor versus felony) by the value of the property in question.
Theft Classifications in Florida
Florida Statute 812.005
A theft can be defined in the even an individual:
- Knowingly obtains or uses another person’s property.
- With an intent of depriving that person of use of their property – either temporarily or permanently.
Thefts can be broken into various categories including:
- 1st degree grand theft: Stolen property worth more than $100,000, has a mazimum penalty of 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
- 2nd degree grand theft: Stolen property with a value between $20,000 and $99,999, has a maximum penalty of 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
- 3rd degree grand theft: Stolen property with a value between $300 and $19,999, has a maximum penalty of 5 years in jail and a fine of up to $5,000.
- Addition stipulations for a 3rd degree grand theft indicate if the property in question was a firearm, a motor vehicle, a commercially farmed animal, a fire extinguisher, any amount of fruit consisting of 2,000 or more individual pieces, any stop sign, construction signs, or anhydrous ammonia.
- 1st degree petty theft: Stolen property valued between $100 and $299, with a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a fine of $1000.
- Can be elevated if this is a 2-time offender.
- 2nd degree petty theft: Stolen property valued below $100, with a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and a fine of $500.
In many circumstances, there are enhancements that can raise these sentences as well – for instance, if an individual used a vehicle as an instrument to commit the crime or if they committed over $1,000 in property damage during the commission of the crime.
Get Help with Your Theft Charge Today!
With over 20 years of experience in criminal defenses, Steven Veinger, Esq. is one of the foremost theft attorneys in the state of Florida. In the event you or your loved one has been charged with a theft, and needs the best possible defense, Mr. Veinger has got the knowledge as well as the work ethic to do whatever it takes to provide you the best possible outcome for your case. He and his team will work day and night, to ensure you have got the best legal counsel and defense, that money can buy.
For more information on theft cases, or to schedule a free legal consultation please feel free to contact the Law Offices of Steven Veinger, Esq. today at (305) 682-0401.