Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
In the state of Florida, a DUI or driving under the influence charge is one of the most serious charges you can incur behind the wheel – considering that DUI’s can often lead to accidents, injury or even death. Whether an accident takes place or not, you are susceptible for heavy fines, loss of driving privileges, and even jail time. As one of the top DUI attorneys in the state of Florida, Steven Veinger, Esq. can help defend you during this trying time, and ensure your case ends in the best possible outcome for you and your loved ones. In the event you are charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs, in addition to having an experienced attorney it is important to have a solid understanding of the laws and your rights.
Florida DUI Laws
Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits
- “Per Se” BAC Limit – 0.08% – In DUI cases, this is the level at which the law can legally consider you to be intoxicated, without any further evidence of impairment needed.
- Underage BAC Limit – 0.02% – In DUI cases, across all 50 states, there is a Zero Tolerance policy for those under the age of 21 (as it is illegal for them to consume alcohol). This means that even the slightest bit of alcohol while driving, for someone who is below 21 can result in a DUI charge.
- Aggravated BAC Limit – 0.15% – In DUI cases, if you have a BAC of above 0.15, you may be subject to an enhanced charge, and even greater penalties.
One of the most important things to know, in the event you are pulled over, and have alcohol in your system, is your right to refuse a breathalyzer test, especially on the spot. However, this can result in automatic suspension of your license (depending on the specific situation it may be more or less than 6 to 18 months).
Also something called implied consent exists, meaning that when you get your license in all 50 states, you are automatically consenting to some type of field sobriety test – in the event you are pulled over and the officer has reasonable suspicion to assume you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Florida DUI Penalties
DUI charges are quite serious, and often carry heavy penalties. Top DUI lawyer like Steven Veinger, has helped countless clients to lessen their penalties and even have charges dropped entirely. Generally the penalties are as follows:
Minimum License Suspension
- 1st Offense – 6 months
- 2nd Offense – 1 year
- 3rd Offense – 2 years
Depending upon the situation and the specifics of your DUI charge, you are likely to receive other possible penalties as well. Including mandatory alcohol education classes & assessment, confiscation of your vehicle, jail time (in the event of multiple offesnses or an accident most likely), heavy fines, and in the state of Florida, after your 2nd offense it is mandatory that your car be outfitted with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID).
An IID is a device that will be outfitted onto your car that forces you to blow into a breathalyzer before your car will start. It will only start and allow you to drive if your BAC is below the legal limit.
Get the DUI Help You Need Today!
For help with all your DUI charges contact one of Miami’s top DUI attorneys, in Steven Veinger, Esq. today. With over 20 years of experience, and an impeccable work ethic he will work tirelessly to fight your charges and help you to earn your freedom at any cost. For a free consultation call the Law Offices of Steven Veinger, Esq. at (305) 682-0401.